Saturday, October 3, 2026 · Portland, Oregon

A Gorge day for two

Three practical outdoor-and-food options, all estimated under $150 total and scheduled home before 8 p.m. Nothing has been booked or purchased.

Recommended: Hood RiverBudget: $92.20 estimatedRain plan included

Quick assumptions

Planning date is based on the desktop date Sun, Sep. 27, 2026. Check official alerts and road conditions again 24–48 hours before leaving.

Recommended: Hood River Waterfront + wood-fired lunch

The City lists a 2.8-mile paved waterfront path; Solstice offers wood-fired pizza on the waterfront. This is a relaxed outdoor plan with a strong meal stop and a generous return-time buffer.

Time (Pacific)Plan
8:00 a.m.Leave downtown Portland; allow about 70–80 minutes for the ~65-mile drive.
9:15–10:50Park at the waterfront and stroll a comfortable portion of the paved trail; turn around whenever you like.
11:00–12:15Lunch at Solstice Wood Fire Pizza Waterfront Cafe. Posted Saturday hours: 11 a.m.–9 p.m. Summer 2026 11-inch pizzas are listed at $18–$23; budget $60 for two including an estimated tax/tip cushion.
12:15–1:15Relax by the river or continue the walk. Leave the paid Port lot by about 1:15; parking budget assumes four hours.
1:15–about 2:30/3:00Drive back to Portland with a traffic buffer—well before the 8 p.m. deadline.
Budget: $92.20 for two
Fuel $20.80 + four-hour parking $11.40 + meal allowance $60.00 = $92.20. That leaves $57.80 under the cap.

Access & parking: The City’s trail page does not state park hours; this plan stays in daylight. Port of Hood River’s 2026 page lists paid parking daily 8 a.m.–6 p.m., $2.75/hour up to $15/day, plus a $0.40 payment fee. Four hours = $11.40. No closure notice appeared on the cited City/Port pages when checked Sept. 27; check again before departure.

Compare the three options

1 · Multnomah Falls

Waterfall viewpoints and a short lower-trail walk; Lodge meal if serving, or bring a good picnic backup. The strenuous upper hike is 2.4 mi round trip with about 600 ft of gain on uneven, steep trail.

Access: Forest Service marks the site open but does not state general daily hours; plan for daylight. The timed-use permit period for the I-84 lot ended Sept. 7, so no timed permit is required Oct. 3. Lodge public restrooms are closed through Nov. 2026; portable toilets are available. Carry a picnic backup because Lodge restaurant hours/service were not confirmed. Avoid Eagle Creek/Oneonta closures.

Day sketch: Depart 8:30; falls 9:15–12:30; return early afternoon.

$75.24 estimated

Fuel $10.24 + $10 parking/access cushion + $55 food allowance.

2 · Bonneville / Cascade Locks

River and dam views, fish-viewing windows and indoor exhibits, then lunch at Thunder Island Brewing. Best choice for rain: the visitor centers are indoors.

Access: USACE lists visitor centers daily 9 a.m.–5 p.m.; separate recreation areas 7 a.m.–5 p.m. Visitor-center page states no admission price; carry a $5 conservative site/parking buffer. USACE warns operational closures can arise with little notice. Thunder Island lists Sat 11 a.m.–10 p.m.

Day sketch: Depart 8:30; visitor center 9:30–11:15; lunch after 11; short river walk; return mid-afternoon.

$72.80 estimated

Fuel $12.80 + $5 fee/parking buffer + $55 food allowance.

3 · Hood River Waterfront ★

Easy paved riverfront stroll, then wood-fired pizza and seasonal cafe food. Recommended for the best balance of outdoor time and meal.

Access: City lists a 2.8-mile paved path. Port parking is paid 8 a.m.–6 p.m. at $2.75/hour, plus $0.40 fee. Solstice Sat 11 a.m.–9 p.m. No closure notice on cited pages when checked Sept. 27; recheck.

Day sketch: Depart 8:00; walk 9:15; lunch at 11; leave around 1:15; home about 2:30–3:00.

$92.20 estimated

Fuel $20.80 + $11.40 four-hour parking + $60 food allowance.

Bad-weather alternative: Bonneville indoors

If Hood River is wet or windy, switch to the Bonneville visitor centers. Leave Portland around 8:30; explore indoor exhibits/fish-viewing areas 9:30–11:15; have lunch at Thunder Island after its 11 a.m. Saturday opening; head home around 1:30–2:00. Estimated total: $72.80, using Option 2’s budget. Add a short outdoor viewpoint walk only if conditions allow. The USACE warns that parts of the operating facility can close with little notice.

Official access and closure check

Official sources

  1. USDA Forest Service — Multnomah Falls
  2. USDA Forest Service — Columbia River Gorge alerts
  3. USACE Portland District — Columbia River Recreation / Bonneville
  4. City of Hood River — Trails & Pathways
  5. Port of Hood River — Waterfront Parking (2026)
  6. Solstice — menu · restaurant site/hours
  7. Thunder Island Brewing — menu · location/hours