# Saturday Gorge day trip for two — Portland to the Columbia River Gorge

**Date:** Saturday, October 3, 2026 (the desktop date at planning time was Sunday, September 27, 2026).  
**Recommendation:** Hood River Waterfront walk + Solstice Wood Fire Pizza. It pairs an easy paved riverside outing with a locally owned wood-fired meal and is estimated at **$92.20 total**, comfortably below the $150 cap.  
**No reservations, bookings, or purchases have been made.**

## Planning assumptions

- Start and finish in **downtown Portland**, one shared car, two people. Route distances/times are planning estimates, not live traffic directions: Multnomah Falls about 32 mi each way; Bonneville/Cascade Locks about 40 mi each way; Hood River about 65 mi each way. Allow roughly 45–50, 50–60, and 70–80 minutes each way, respectively; add a traffic/weather buffer.
- Fuel scenario: **25 mpg and $4.00/gallon** (an explicit planning assumption, not a live fuel quote). Estimated fuel = round-trip miles ÷ 25 × $4. No tolls assumed.
- Food figures are **allowances for two including an estimated tax/tip cushion**, not guaranteed menu totals. Optional shopping, alcohol, extra meals, and unplanned purchases are excluded.
- Site/parking cushions are deliberately conservative where a page did not state a specific charge for the exact parking area. Check posted signs and current alerts before driving.

## Recommended outing: Hood River Waterfront

| Time (Pacific) | Plan |
|---|---|
| 8:00 a.m. | Leave downtown Portland; plan about 65 mi / 70–80 min each way. |
| 9:15–10:50 | Park at the waterfront and stroll a comfortable section of the City’s 2.8-mile paved Hood River Waterfront Trail; turn around whenever you like. |
| 11:00–12:15 p.m. | Lunch at **Solstice Wood Fire Pizza Waterfront Cafe** (Saturday hours posted as 11 a.m.–9 p.m.). Share a wood-fired pizza and add a salad or side within the $60 couple allowance. |
| 12:15–1:15 | Relax by the river or continue the walk. Leave the paid Port parking area by about 1:15 (budgeted as four hours). |
| 1:15–about 2:30/3:00 | Drive back to Portland with a traffic buffer. Plenty of margin before the 8 p.m. deadline. |

**Access, hours, fees, and closures:** The City of Hood River describes the Waterfront Trail as a 2.8-mile paved path but does not state park hours on that page; this plan stays in daylight. Port of Hood River’s 2026 parking page says payment is required daily 8 a.m.–6 p.m.; the rate is $2.75/hour, capped at $15/day, plus a $0.40 payment-processing fee. Four hours therefore budgets to $11.40. The cafe’s own site lists Saturday hours of 11 a.m.–9 p.m.; its Summer 2026 menu lists 11-inch pizzas at $18–$23. No closure notice appeared on the cited City/Port pages when checked Sept. 27; recheck shortly before departure. Follow signs at the lots.

**Estimated budget for two**

- Fuel: 130 mi ÷ 25 mpg × $4/gal = **$20.80**
- Port parking: 4 × $2.75 + $0.40 fee = **$11.40**
- Meal allowance: **$60.00**
- **Estimated total: $92.20**; **$57.80** below the $150 cap.

## Three practical options compared

| Option | Outdoor focus / food | Official access notes | Round-trip estimate | Budget for two |
|---|---|---|---:|---:|
| **1. Multnomah Falls** | Waterfall viewpoints and a short lower-trail walk; lunch at the Lodge if serving, or bring a good picnic as backup. The upper hike to the top is 2.4 mi round trip with about 600 ft of gain on uneven, steep trail—only choose it if both hikers are comfortable with that. | Forest Service currently marks the site open but does not state general daily opening hours on its recreation page; plan for daylight. The 2026 timed-use permit period for the I-84 lot ended Sept. 7, so no timed permit is required Oct. 3. Lodge public restrooms are closed for renovation through Nov. 2026; portable toilets are available. A $10 parking/access cushion is budgeted rather than assuming a particular lot is free. | ~64 mi; fuel **$10.24** | Fuel $10.24 + access/parking cushion $10 + food $55 = **$75.24** |
| **2. Bonneville Lock & Dam / Cascade Locks** | Outdoor river-and-dam views, fish-viewing windows and exhibits at the visitor centers; lunch at **Thunder Island Brewing** in Cascade Locks. This is also the best wet-weather fallback because the visitor centers are indoors. | USACE lists the two Bonneville visitor centers open daily 9 a.m.–5 p.m. (closed Thanksgiving and Dec. 24–Jan. 1); nearby recreation areas are listed 7 a.m.–5 p.m. The USACE visitor-center page does not state a visitor-center admission price, so the budget includes a $5 fee/parking buffer; some separate recreation areas can have day-use fees. USACE warns operational closures may occur with little notice. Thunder Island’s official page lists Fri–Sat 11 a.m.–10 p.m.; its menu lists burgers around $18–$20 and bowls $19–$22. | ~80 mi; fuel **$12.80** | Fuel $12.80 + fee/parking buffer $5 + food $55 = **$72.80** |
| **3. Hood River Waterfront (recommended)** | Easy paved riverfront walk plus wood-fired pizza and seasonal cafe food. | 2.8-mile paved path (City); Port parking daily 8 a.m.–6 p.m., $2.75/hour, max $15/day, plus $0.40 fee. Solstice Saturday 11 a.m.–9 p.m. No closure notice appeared on the cited pages when checked Sept. 27; recheck. | ~130 mi; fuel **$20.80** | Fuel $20.80 + 4-hour parking $11.40 + food $60 = **$92.20** |

All three estimates are under $150. The Multnomah Falls and Bonneville food numbers are planning allowances, not quoted meal prices. For Multnomah Falls, the Forest Service confirms there is a Lodge restaurant/snack bar, but carry a picnic backup in case renovation/service conditions change.

## Bad-weather alternative: indoor Bonneville visitor-center day

If the Hood River waterfront forecast is wet or windy, switch to **Bonneville Lock & Dam**: leave Portland around 8:30 a.m.; reach the visitor center around 9:30; spend 9:30–11:15 inside the exhibits/fish-viewing areas; have lunch at Thunder Island after its 11 a.m. Saturday opening; leave around 1:30–2:00 p.m. and return to Portland well before 8. Budget **$72.80** using the Cascade Locks estimates above. If conditions allow, add a short outdoor viewpoint walk; otherwise keep the visit indoors. The USACE notes that operating conditions can close portions with little warning, so check its page before setting out.

## Current closure and safety checks

- **Multnomah Falls:** Site listed open by the Forest Service; its page does not give general daily hours, so visit in daylight. Public restrooms at the Lodge are closed through November 2026, with portable toilets available. The timed-permit dates shown are May 22–Sept. 7, 2026; Oct. 3 is outside that period. The Lodge site also warns its restaurant elevator is intermittently available during renovations; carry a picnic backup because restaurant service/hours were not confirmed from the USFS page.
- **Avoid Eagle Creek / Oneonta Gorge detours:** the current Forest Service alerts page lists Eagle Creek Fire Area closures, including trails/areas in that zone. None of the three plans requires entering those closures.
- **Bonneville:** visitor-center hours are published, but the USACE warns that operational closures can arise with little notice.
- These are pages checked on **Sept. 27, 2026**, not a guarantee against a new closure or weather event. Recheck the relevant official alerts, road conditions, and restaurant hours 24–48 hours before leaving.

## Official sources

1. [USDA Forest Service — Multnomah Falls area](https://www.fs.usda.gov/r06/columbiarivergorge/recreation/multnomah-falls) — current site status, trail details, timed-permit dates, amenities.
2. [USDA Forest Service — Columbia River Gorge alerts](https://www.fs.usda.gov/r06/columbiarivergorge/alerts) — restroom renovation and area-closure alerts.
3. [USACE Portland District — Columbia River Recreation / Bonneville](https://www.nwp.usace.army.mil/Missions/Recreation/Columbia-River/) — visitor-center/recreation hours, locations, and operational-closure caution.
4. [City of Hood River — Trails & Pathways](https://cityofhoodriver.gov/community/trails-pathways/) — Waterfront Trail length and surface.
5. [Port of Hood River — Waterfront Parking (2026)](https://www.portofhoodriver.com/waterfront-parking) — payment hours, rates, processing fee, parking rules.
6. [Solstice Wood Fire Pizza — menu](https://solsticehoodriver.com/menus) and [restaurant site/hours](https://solsticehoodriver.com/) — Summer 2026 menu and posted Saturday hours.
7. [Thunder Island Brewing — menu](https://thunderislandbrewing.com/menu) and [location/hours](https://thunderislandbrewing.com/Aboutus) — current food menu and posted operating hours.
